Honours in Australia and New Zealand

Nobel Laureate Professor Elizabeth Blackburn is invested as a Companion in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AC) at Admiralty House in Sydney.
Nearing the impending vote on Scottish independence seems like a fine time to have a brief look at some other honours systems from around the world. If the Scottish people do vote yes, perhaps they will choose to incorporate aspects of the systems adopted by Australia and New Zealand, where the British honours system was used until 1975. 
Following reviews in the mid-seventies in both countries, the Orders of Australia and New Zealand were established. Since their inception, they have proved to be something of a political hot potato and there have been numerous alterations in the last 40 years. In Australia, Knight and Dame Honours were removed from the system in 1986, but reintroduced in March 2014. Similarly, in New Zealand, starting in 1996 an entirely new five tier Order of Merit was introduced. Knight and Damehoods were removed from the system in 2000 before being reintroduced in 2009.  
While both systems have their own unique hallmarks, the systems of public nominations in place bears many similarities with the British Honours System. Anyone may nominate anyone of their choice. Again, in congruity with the UK, the honours systems of New Zealand and Australia are designed to recognise the achievements of individuals who have made significant contributions to their country or local community. Finally, the orders are tiered to reflect the scale of achievement and influence.
The Order of Australia
Knight / Dame of the Order of Australia (AK / AD)
Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)
Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)
Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)
When are the honours announced?
Throughout each year there are a range of ‘Honours Announcements’ made public.
Please visit www.itsanhonour.gov.au/ for more information
The Order of New Zealand
Dames and Knights Grand Companions
Dames and Knights Companions
When are the honours announced?
Honours lists are published at New Year, on the New Zealand observance of The Queen’s Birthday, and in Special Lists (e.g. for gallantry and bravery awards) as required.
Please visit www.dpmc.govt.nz/honours/ for more information
If you know of an Australian, Kiwi, British or overseas national who has made a significant contribution to Australia, New Zealand or Britain, give us a call on +44 (0)1444 230130 to find out if they could be eligible for an Honours nomination or drop us a line at enquiries@awardsintelligence.co.uk. Our experts can also take care of the nomination drafting process to save you precious time and significantly increase your chances of success.