The World Travel & Tourism Council Awards

The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) is accepting applications for the 2014 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards. 
Stemming from the growing concern about natural and cultural resources, these awards aim to highlight best practice in sustainable tourism within the travel and tourism industry worldwide. 
Applications are invited from businesses, organisations or initiatives, such as NGOs, national or regional authorities, and those operating cruise lines, hotel groups, airlines, tours, car rentals and rail services.  
Broadening scope of the WTTC’s agenda, they have added two new categories to recognise achievements in human resources and innovation. 
The six categories are:
Business Award
Community Award
Destination Award
Environment Award
Innovation Award
People Award
3 stage judging process:
1. The finalists are determined by panel of 22 expert independent judges
2. On-site inspection visit for each of the finalists. 
3. Award winners are chosen by a five-member winner selection committee 
Launching the 2014 Awards at the WTTC Asia Summit in Seoul, David Scowsill, President and CEO of WTTC explained: “Ensuring the long-term sustainable growth of our industry is probably the biggest challenge we face. The challenge here is not just doing the right thing for the environment, but for out people and the businesses they work in. We recognise that the successful businesses of tomorrow will be those which balance a commitment to the planet, with people and profits. That’s why we have enlarged the scope of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards to include new categories and have also revised the existing categories. This will result in a greater number of businesses being recognised as being the very best in sustainable tourism without the Awards losing the rigorous judging process for which they are rightly renowned.”
The awards give finalists and winners complimentary flights and accommodation to the WTTC’s Global Summit in Hainan, China, 24-25 April 2014. Attended by numerous Travel & Tourism industry leaders, government representatives and members of the international media, the summit is a premier event in the travel industry calendar.  
All companies/organisations must have been in operation for at least 3 full years and the sustainable tourism project/initiative submitted for consideration must be in operation for at least 1 full year.
Applications must be received by 2nd December 2013
Click here to find out more about the awards
For a full list of terms and conditions click here