Queen’s Anniversary Prize

The highly prestigious and much-coveted Queen’s Anniversary Prize recognises Higher and Further Education establishments throughout the United Kingdom.

Moving into it’s 11th round, the award was originally formed by The Royal Anniversary Trust to support the advancement of education. It is the leading UK prize for education institutes and is well-known as an exceptional platform for highlighting world-class projects and research excellence.

The Queen’s Anniversary Prize runs twice-yearly with approximately 20 prizes awarded to outstanding institutions at each round.

Benefits of winning a Queen’s Anniversary Prize:

Demonstrating your success as a leading Further or Higher Education establishment will set you apart form your professional peers, help to gain valuable investment and resources, further research opportunities and enhance the reputation of your work.

Your award will include:

–      A Prize Medal naming the institution;

–      A Prize Certificate signed by The Queen;

–      The entitlement to use the logo of the Prize scheme for years.

Recent Queen’s Anniversary Prize Winners:

Loughborough University – Research and skills development in High Value Manufacturing creating new products, processes and economic growth. Loughborough University’s exceptional research, teaching and partnerships with industry help drive the development of High Value Manufacturing across many sectors, creating new processes and products, and increasing competitiveness and economic growth.

University of Edinburgh – Extending professional and academic skills in surgery through international online training at Masters level. Since their launch six years ago, the University of Edinburgh’s distance learning masters programmes have re-shaped postgraduate surgical education by combining the professional and academic development of surgical trainees worldwide.

How to enter The Queen’s Anniversary Prize competition

There is a comprehensive and rigorous entry process with the assessors looking for four key elements in each nomination:

1.    Excellence

2.    Innovation

3.    Benefit for the institution

4.    Benefit beyond the institution

The assessment process is overseen by the Awards Council of the Trust. Finalists’ nominations are submitted to the Prime Minister who in turn makes recommendations to The Queen.  Each nomination focuses on a specialist activity, area of work or project led by the institution.

Key Dates

CLOSING DATE FOR ENTRIES  – Wednesday 1st April 2015

Assessment of entries – April – September 2015

The Awards Council makes recommendations to The Queen – September 2015

Heads of Prize-winning institutions notified in confidence – October 2015

Reception and public announcement of the Prize-winners at St James’s Palace -19th November 2015*

Prize-winners Dinner at Guildhall, City of London – 24th February 2016*

Presentation of Prizes at Buckingham Palace  – 25th February 2016*

*Dates to be confirmed


Email us or call us on +44 (0)1444 230130 to find out how we can help your institution take it’s projects, teams and talent all the way to Buckingham Palace.